Smart Folder bug?

A place for users to ask each other questions, make suggestions, and discuss Bookends.
Post Reply
nmadani
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:18 am

Smart Folder bug?

Post by nmadani » Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:03 pm

Perhaps a bug:

Create a Smart Folder. It works as expected.

Add a Smart Group (SQL) to it that shows a subset of the Smart Folder. The containing Smart Folder now only shows the restricted content of the contained item.

Add a different subgroup of the containing Smart Folder as a Smart Group, the container Smart Folder when selected selects nothing.

Change both of the contained Smart Groups to show the same selection, the contained Smart Group selection is shown when the containing Smart Folder is active.

The behavior when clicking the Smart Folder appears to be:

SmartFolder AND SmartGroup1 AND SmartGroup2 …

Is this intentional?

Thanks,

Navid

Jon
Site Admin
Posts: 8291
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD
Contact:

Re: Smart Folder bug?

Post by Jon » Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:34 pm

You can change that to OR by right-clicking on the group pane and specifying how you want multiple selections handled.

Jon
Sonny Software

nmadani
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:18 am

Re: Smart Folder bug?

Post by nmadani » Tue Sep 17, 2019 7:33 pm

Thanks. I clearly misunderstood how it was supposed to work. This is actually very useful!

Post Reply