Bookends and MLA/Silver Platter

A place for users to ask each other questions, make suggestions, and discuss Bookends.
JEC

Bookends and MLA/Silver Platter

Post by JEC »

I am new to Bookends and have been off of Endnote for at least one version, however, I am having very little success importing usably clean reference matter from the MLA (Silver Platter/WebSpirs) format. Partly this is clearly a WebSpirs problem: their dbase has no save-format options, except contents and ranges, and the filter in Bookends does not read the MLA marked records lists upon download/save. So, I have been taking download lists and copying them to clipboard in order to import, and this causes noisy/unclean records. I have also tried to use their print preview to copy into Word, clean it up myself, and then re-copy to clipboard or re-import through Word, again without success. I have two questions: first, is there a list of markers or field tags that Bookends uses to read records for import, so that I can pre-clean data with them? (I assume these are distinct from the ones I would use to create a custom filter, but if they are the same, the user info should specify that as well.) Secondly, and perhaps more ideallly, is there an easier solution that I might be missing?

Thanks
-JEC
Jon
Site Admin

Re: Bookends and MLA/Silver Platter

Post by Jon »

JEC wrote:I have two questions: first, is there a list of markers or field tags that Bookends uses to read records for import, so that I can pre-clean data with them? (I assume these are distinct from the ones I would use to create a custom filter, but if they are the same, the user info should specify that as well.) Secondly, and perhaps more ideallly, is there an easier solution that I might be missing?
-JEC
Hi,

I am on vacation in Italy and will answer this more fully when I return if you need more information.