Word 2008 Scan and Unscan

A place for users to ask each other questions, make suggestions, and discuss Bookends.
Dixiedog

Word 2008 Scan and Unscan

Post by Dixiedog »

Some of this has been discussed previously, but there have been some updates to both Word 2008 and Bookends.

What is the current status of our ability to unscan and scan properly in Word 2008?

I have encountered odd problems and don't want to waste a lot of time reentering citations if there is a fairly fundamental problem. In the past, Jon has recommended not scanning until the very end, but that is not practical for me in this case (besides which, I like seeing things from time to time in "final" form, even though there will be subsequent revision). I unscan/scan routinely in Mellel, but I'm new to Word 2008 this week, and using a document carried over from 2004 that was "complete," but must now be revised.

My document has citation in text, footnotes, and endnotes. When I have tried unscanning, only some of the grayed items revert to { }. When I scan, only some of the items in { } are "read."
Jon
Site Admin

Re: Word 2008 Scan and Unscan

Post by Jon »

Unscanning Word 2008 files has been greatly improved, and I'm not aware of any problems with it at this time. There may be special cases where hidden citations are not recognized, but if you remove them and replace them with a new temporary citation I expect that will fix it. In any case, if you have examples where hidden citations aren't being recognized, you can send them to me and I'll see what the problem is.

Jon
Sonny Software
Dixiedog

Post by Dixiedog »