Question about how to use Bookends

A place for users to ask each other questions, make suggestions, and discuss Bookends.
NicholasIb

Question about how to use Bookends

Post by NicholasIb »

Dear all,

I am looking for some advice. I am a post-graduate student using Bookends with Scrivener (and Word). During my research when writing essays or my dissertation I've tended to write pages of personal notes summarising my interest in particular books and journal articles within the structure of Scrivener.

However, I'm looking to move all of these into Bookends and organise them to be attached to the relevant reference, rather than relating them to a specific essay I've written.

My question is this - I could either copy each page of notes and attach as an attachment (creating a text file attachment to be held alongside all of my journal PDF attachments). This would be indexed by Spotlight search on my Mac, and would leave all the text outside of the Bookends database, just a link to the file. Or I could use the Notes features in Bookends to more closely integrate my notes with the reference and the database (and allow me to use keywords, which I'm unlikely to do at the moment).

My instinct is to do the former, but I don't want to start moving all the material and then realise that it would have been better to do the latter. Also, there is a new version coming soon, 12, which might have some bearing on my choice.

I'd be interested to hear how others use Bookends to organise your research notes and the benefits you've found with particular approaches?

Many thanks in advance,

Nic
Jon
Site Admin

Re: Question about how to use Bookends

Post by Jon »