"Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

A place for users to ask each other questions, make suggestions, and discuss Bookends.
kdv
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 10:51 am

"Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by kdv » Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:30 am

Using Bookends 13.0.4 and Word for Mac 16.9 i can no longer format a document using the "Scan document" addin
Bookends appears to go through the motions, but the reference placeholders are not replaced and no reference list is inserted.
Tried to restart word and bookends a couple of times with no effect.
Scanning RTFs from Bookends still works.
Kurt

Jon
Site Admin
Posts: 8315
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD
Contact:

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by Jon » Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:40 am

Please see this FAQ

http://www.sonnysoftware.com/faq/faq.ht ... rting_a_ci

Jon
Sonny Software

DarrenIngram
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 8:37 am

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by DarrenIngram » Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:46 am

I hit this yesterday and have been following up with Jon and the usual excellent support.

Reinstalling Word made no difference. Downgrading Bookends didn't either. So I suspect it is Word. Are you getting it through O365 also? They updated in the week.

I am "glad" it is someone else who suddenly got the same issue if you know what I mean.

Restarting the machine hasn't helped (I am on OSX10.11 BTW) and I need to schedule another restart after cache clean "just in case".

So, TL:DR. A "me too" but if you do get it working, share the secret :) The suggestions so far from Jon have not helped my particular case.

In the interim, you can paste in Word after it "fails" and you will get the information. It seems the AppleScript is not passing the final command to Word.

klaevimagdad
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:12 am

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by klaevimagdad » Sun Jan 21, 2018 4:18 pm

Me too. I guess it's because of the latest Word update?

Edit: I also followed the suggested steps from the FAQ with no positive results.

klaevimagdad
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:12 am

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by klaevimagdad » Sun Jan 21, 2018 4:23 pm

DarrenIngram wrote: In the interim, you can paste in Word after it "fails" and you will get the information. It seems the AppleScript is not passing the final command to Word.
This actually works - thank you so much for this interim solution!

Jon
Site Admin
Posts: 8315
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD
Contact:

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by Jon » Sun Jan 21, 2018 5:42 pm

That is covered in the FAQ linked above.

Everyone reading this thread should read it.

Jon
Sonny Software

iandol
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:31 pm

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by iandol » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:26 am

For anyone who uses Alfred, here is a workflow which automates the "Paste as formatted text", which solved this current problem in Word 16.9 for me (the script was provided by Jon who, as always, responded to my support request within minutes of me asking!)
Paste_to_Word.alfredworkflow.zip
(1.51 KiB) Downloaded 65 times
Just think ourselves lucky, Word 16.9 totally broke Endnote's CWYW! :lol:

pharaoh
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:09 am

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by pharaoh » Mon Jan 22, 2018 8:30 am

Dear Iandol,
can you create an Alfred workflow for unscanning as well?

Rob

DarrenIngram
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 8:37 am

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by DarrenIngram » Mon Jan 22, 2018 9:17 am

I've heard about Alfred in the past.

Does the provided script mean that if you have Alfred installed, the script would automatically run and know what to do, e.g. is it "install and forget"?

Does this script need the optional PowerPack?

Maybe I need time to play with it... :)

ephys
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:21 am

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by ephys » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:33 am

I am using BE 13.0.4 on a iMac running Sierra 10.13.2. Last Friday, BE failed to insert and generate a bibliography in a Word document. This morning I tried something different. After failing to format my document and while the whole text was still selected, I used Command-Z followed by Command-V. This time around, not only all the references were now inserted but a bibliography was generated.

Jon
Site Admin
Posts: 8315
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD
Contact:

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by Jon » Mon Jan 22, 2018 10:39 am

That information is included in the FAQ references at the top of this thread.

Jon
Sonny Software

iandol
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:31 pm

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by iandol » Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:18 am

pharoah: added beunscan command.
Paste_to_Word.alfredworkflow.zip
(120.12 KiB) Downloaded 71 times
DarrenIngram: Alfred is a simple way to easily run a script, you call it up and enter a keyword, or bind a key and it run a script (or many other things). And yes, you need to buy a powerpack licence to use workflows...

pharaoh
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:09 am

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by pharaoh » Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:53 pm

Dear Iandol,
I thank you for the workflow, but it seems that unscanning still does not work. I looked into the script, but I could not figure out the problem. I see this part in the script:

tell application "Bookends"
ignoring application responses
activate
«event bepebepu»
end ignoring
delay 1
end tell


but it seems that event bepebepu is ignored. Any advice?

iandol
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:31 pm

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by iandol » Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:36 pm

That is the code taken directly from Bookends applescript itself so it should work (it works for me, though I'm happy to press the icon so don't really use it). PM me if you want to follow up so we don't divert this thread...

pharaoh
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:09 am

Re: "Scan document" Add-in for Word not working

Post by pharaoh » Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:37 pm

@iandol,

i thank you for the information and the fact that works in your case. I was wondering however if you are using Word for Mac version 16.0.9.

And from now, I will keep the conversation between you and me.

Thanks.

Post Reply