Importing .csl style into bookends

A place for users to ask each other questions, make suggestions, and discuss Bookends.
mzumaeta

Importing .csl style into bookends

Post by mzumaeta »

Good evening! I know that there are many style options available in Bookends, but the School where I am doing my PhD has its own specific style of citation. A version of the school's style of citation has been develop in zotero as a .csl file. I would like to import this style into bookends. How would I go about to do that? I could use zotero, but why would I do that if I own bookends? I would hate to have to develop this specific style set from scratch when there is already something developed in zotero. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Moises
Jon
Site Admin

Re: Importing .csl style into bookends

Post by Jon »

Bookends formats and CSL styles are very different, you can't import the later. Creating a style in Bookends is pretty easy, though (far easier than for CSL). It will probably take you less than 10 minutes to do it (and I can provide advice if you run into problems). Have you seen our video tutorial on formatting (which is much more fleshed out in the user guide)?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CowJRIu ... load_owner

Jon
Sonny Software
vinschger

Post by vinschger »

I absolutely understand that CSL and Bookends formats are different. But I assume each field in a bookends format can be associated to a field in a CSL format, e.g. author field to author field, years field to years field, journal name to journal name? Couldn't therefore a CSL format import be a possibility? The CSL repository is huge. For me bookends is the best reference manager of all (I was a papers user, I tried mendeley, zotero and also paperpile and endnote). but the csl repository indeed is an advantage in comparison to have to create ir adjust new styles each time when I submit to a new journal (even if its easy). what do other user think? or do you think this isn't needed at all?