Feature Request

A place for users to ask each other questions, make suggestions, and discuss Bookends.
Post Reply
vicboss
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:33 am

Feature Request

Post by vicboss » Thu Aug 22, 2019 9:43 am

I would really like bookends to have keyword and tag auto completion feature. For example, when we input a keyword, there should be a popup list to show the matching tags. I think this feature is quite standard. If we can have an independent tab in the `edit reference` panel for inputing keywords, it will be better.

Also, is that possible to hide all undefined field labels? I think being able to hide them will make the interface more clear.

Jon
Site Admin
Posts: 8315
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD
Contact:

Re: Feature Request

Post by Jon » Thu Aug 22, 2019 5:40 pm

There is an independent field for entering keywords. And there is autocomplete for this.

You can't remove fields with no content (if that's what you mean by undefined), but you can rearrange the order of the fields with Command-drag.

Jon
Sonny Software

nh220
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:53 pm

Re: Feature Request

Post by nh220 » Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:13 am

You can't remove fields with no content (if that's what you mean by undefined), but you can rearrange the order of the fields with Command-drag.
Wow, had no idea you could do that. These little nice features of Bookends never cease to amaze me. On this note, is there a way to move a field from one tab to another when editing a reference?

Specifically, I would love for Internet sources to have the Last Update field on the Main tab rather than "Additional Fields" but that does not seem to work for me.

DarrenIngram
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 8:37 am

Re: Feature Request

Post by DarrenIngram » Sat Aug 24, 2019 11:34 am

I must try that feature too. It would be stellar if THAT change of preferences could be synchronised too (between instances), e.g. laptop and desktop.

Jon
Site Admin
Posts: 8315
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD
Contact:

Re: Feature Request

Post by Jon » Sat Aug 24, 2019 6:43 pm

You can't move fields between tabs. FYI, the fields on the first tab are qualitatively different from those on the Added Fields tab. For example, the former can have styled text, autocomplete, and have their own Term Lists. The fields in the latter can't.

Field order is not a global, it can be different between libraries (of course, we recommend having only one library).

Jon
Sonny Software

Post Reply