Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

A place for users to ask each other questions, make suggestions, and discuss Bookends.
Post Reply
Cassady
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:48 pm
Location: Sqornshellous

Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

Post by Cassady »

Hello all,

Upgraded to 13.3, and followed the release notes for the Google Scholar importing – but not sure it is working as expected.
After going into settings, and changing the "show links to import citations into", and having selected "RefMan" – I am not met with an option to "Import into Bookends".

Rather, it still displays "Import into Refman". Clicking on this, doesn't appear to do anything.
I did save the change, and have quit/restarted BE.

Any suggestions?

Jon
Site Admin
Posts: 8574
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD
Contact:

Re: Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

Post by Jon »

You did this in Bookends Browser? Or you standalone web browser?

Jon
Sonny Software

Cassady
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:48 pm
Location: Sqornshellous

Re: Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

Post by Cassady »

Jon wrote:
Wed Jan 08, 2020 9:10 am
You did this in Bookends Browser? Or you standalone web browser?

Jon
Sonny Software
Hi Jon,

Through the BE Browser.

Jon
Site Admin
Posts: 8574
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD
Contact:

Re: Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

Post by Jon »

Please make sure you're using 13.3 and not 13.2.8 by mistake.

If you are, please contact tech support directly with screen snaps of what you're doing and what you see.

Jon
Sonny Software

aroddick
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:27 pm

Re: Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

Post by aroddick »

I'm having the same issue. Also - and perhaps a silly question - I am not sure how to accept cookies in the BE browser (I cannot save my Google Scholar preferences without them turned on).

Jon
Site Admin
Posts: 8574
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD
Contact:

Re: Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

Post by Jon »

You can't. But you can in Safari, etc.

What macOS version are you using?

Jon
Sonny Software

aroddick
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:27 pm

Re: Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

Post by aroddick »

I am running Mojave (10.14.6) and generally use the Brave browser (and Bookends is directed to it). I can save the scholar settings fine in Brave (where cookies are accepted), but not in Bookends. And, as above, cannot seem to get the browser to import to BE.
Thanks,
Andy
Attachments
Screenshot 2020-01-09 09.39.51.png
Screenshot 2020-01-09 09.39.51.png (53.06 KiB) Viewed 3992 times
Screenshot 2020-01-09 09.40.23.png
Screenshot 2020-01-09 09.40.23.png (41.5 KiB) Viewed 3992 times

Jon
Site Admin
Posts: 8574
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD
Contact:

Re: Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

Post by Jon »

So far there are only 2 reports of this problem, which I can't reproduce. Please try another Mac if you can as a diagnostic. You're also welcome to write to tech support if you want to try the beta of our next release, which will have an entirely new browser engine to see if that helps.

Jon
Sonny Software

aroddick
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:27 pm

Re: Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

Post by aroddick »

Ok, will do both. Thanks.

Jon
Site Admin
Posts: 8574
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD
Contact:

Re: Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

Post by Jon »

The direct import from GS won't work if you're using EZProxy. I've fixed this and made a silent update today. Please download Bookends 13.3 again if you are using EZProxy.

Jon
Sonny Software

Jon
Site Admin
Posts: 8574
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: Bethesda, MD
Contact:

Re: Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

Post by Jon »

Followup -- this feature works in Online Search -> Bookends Browser. It does NOT work (by design) in the library window browser pane.

Jon
Sonny Software

aroddick
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:27 pm

Re: Import from G Scholar using BE Browser?

Post by aroddick »

Ahh. Works fine like that. Cheers!

Post Reply