Need help understanding tags/metatags

A place for users to ask each other questions, make suggestions, and discuss Bookends.
sara.abreu

Need help understanding tags/metatags

Post by sara.abreu »

Bookends beginner here, so apologies if question is a bit basic and specific to my case.

I'm trying to understand how metatags and tags work. I've read the user guide, and I understand about the creation of metatag hierarchies and the tags that are inside each. But I'm struggling to find the best way to tag my references.

I'm a zoo veterinarian and so I study/work with a multitude of diseases and species. I want to be able to search/filter my references so that I can search by 'body system AND taxonomy'. I also want smart groups divided by each. So one group just for all turtle articles, one for elephants, one for all the eye diseases, one for all the brain diseases, and so on. I thought the best way to do this would be by tags.

So I've created a Body Systems metatag with each body system as a tag and a metatag hierarchy for the main taxonomic families, and was thinking of adding the species as tags inside each, as I process each article. So Mammals --> Felidae as metatags, and then inside Felidae --> Lynx, Caracal, Panthera, etc.

1 - As I understand it, there is not a specific field to add tags/metatags and they would need to be added either to keywords or notes? Could I make a custom user field for inserting these tags so that they are separated from the article's published keywords and easier to see? Or would that make them not searchable if I want to create a quick smart group for a specific case?