French formats, anyone interested?

Users asking other users for bibliography formats.
mathiasgl

French formats, anyone interested?

Post by mathiasgl »

Hi, I've been using Bookends for a few months and I really like it. Unfortunately there are no French citation styles so far, and I plan to make a very general one for Humanities, that could be easily tweaked depending on the journals, anyone interested? I'll share mine and perhaps we can help each other, I still have hard times mastering the "empty fields" options, even with the guide.
Jon
Site Admin

Re: French formats, anyone interested?

Post by Jon »

If you have specific formats we'd be happy to include them with the distribution (we already do that for some foreign formats). As for dealing with empty fields, I recommend 2 approaches:

1. Use spaces and $ (quote marks). For example, if the editors field is empty the text prior to it won't be output:

$edited by $e

(note that the space before the e is *inside* of the quote.

2. Conditional groups is very powerful, and often works when other approaches fail. Tell Bookends what to output in the order of preference. The first "group" in which all elements have content will be output

{a, t (d)^a (d)^}

The ^ at the end means output nothing if the first two options fail.

Jon
Sonny Software
mathiasgl

Post by mathiasgl »

Thanks for the feedback, Jon, I'm still exploring the conditional groups possibilities. One of the concerns I had, but it has nothing to do with a French version, is to decide whether translated books should not be a new and independent category, it's seems easier to include then all the required fields than to nest them into conditional groups in a regular reference, which may be translated, or not.
Jon
Site Admin

Post by Jon »

It's actually easy to do even without conditional groups. Something like this (untested), where u9 is the Transl. Auth field:

a, $Translated by $u9*. t.

If there is nothing in the u9 field, you get this