Attachments Not Downloading from iCloud to iPad Pro

A place to discuss Bookends for iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch.
stburrow

Attachments Not Downloading from iCloud to iPad Pro

Post by stburrow »

I am new to Bookends, having most recently worked with EndNote X8, Papers 3, and Sente. I use a MacBook Air (running Sierra and latest version of BE) and an iPad Pro.

I work at a university during the day, often reviewing literature on my MacBook at my desk. I found out early in using BE, that my university's wireless service (Eduroam) blocks WiFi sync between my MacBook and iPad, so I switched to synchronization through iCloud. I have observed some disturbing problems.

After adding approximately 50 papers to my MacBook Air BE library this weekend and synchronizing them to iCloud, none of the pdf attachments would download into the iPad Pro. The iPad Pro BE library shows the new library entries, but nothing will pull up the associated pdf attachments. I erased the iPad Pro library and re-created it, downloading via wifi synch at my home. After confirming that the library was re-established on the iPad Pro, I created five 'test' documents on the MacBook and synched them to iCloud. Once again, the iPad Pro shows that these test documents are present and shows their addition to a new static group that I created. However, the attachments will not download into the iPad Pro, so I cannot check to see if the unique annotations that I added to these test references were synched over to the iPad via iCloud.

i also noticed that BE is creating multiple versions of the same attachment file in the iCloud library folder. What gives with that?
stburrow

Re: Attachments Not Downloading from iCloud to iPad Pro

Post by stburrow »

This reply is an Addendum to My Earlier (Original) Posting on this Topic