Secondary reference order

A place for users to ask each other questions, make suggestions, and discuss Bookends.
joshturse

Secondary reference order

Post by joshturse »

I hit a snag today with formatting references - secondary sort order.

I am a graduate student in a bacteriology lab, and have to submit a thesis. I met with our thesis clerk today, who pointed out to me that different citations from the same "senior" author have to have a sort order, either chronological, reverse chronological or by the second author's last name. Is there a way to do this? I hate to say it, but Endnote has a preference for setting this order…and Endnote is evil :twisted:

Jon's reply (from the original post)
You mean sort by senior (AKA last) author? Really? I've never heard of this (and don't see it as an option in EN, but maybe I'm just missing it).

Bookends will sort by authors (all) and then date. So the second author's last name *will* be used in the sort. Can you give me an example of the sort you want? (BTW, this should be moved to the Bookends forum. I don't think I can do that, but you can start a new thread there...)

Jon
Sonny Software
Last edited by joshturse on Thu May 19, 2005 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
joshturse

Post by joshturse »

From the journals I use regularly, I'd be hard-pressed to give an example, but from the thesis clerk…

Here's an example of three papers from the same "senior" author (they mean first author):
Cloeckaert, A., Verger, J.M., Grayon, M., Paquet, J.Y., Garin-Bastuji, B., Foster, G., and Godfroid, J. (2001) Classification of Brucella spp. isolated from marine mammals by DNA polymorphism at the omp2 locus. Microbes Infect 3: 729-738.

Cloeckaert, A., Zygmunt, M.S., and Guilloteau, L.A. (2002) Brucella abortus vaccine strain RB51 produces low levels of M-like O-antigen. Vaccine 20: 1820-1822.