What is the preferred workflow to import from EBSCO?

A place for users to ask each other questions, make suggestions, and discuss Bookends.
kaderan

What is the preferred workflow to import from EBSCO?

Post by kaderan »

Hello, I have a question similar to the one asked viewtopic.php?t=3944
but it's an old thread so I thought I'd reboot it:

I'm fairly new to Bookends, so I wanted to double-check my EBSCO importing workflow because it seems convoluted using the Bookends browser, and I feel I must be doing something wrong.

First, let me say that using Google Scholar in the Bookends browser works just fine.

However, when I log into my EBSCO account in BB and do a search, I only get the option to import references on the results page (never, so far, on the page of the actual reference.) And the BB listed options for import from the EBSCO search results page (ie., once the BB import button has been clicked) do not list all of the references shown on the results page.

Since I've yet to figure out how to import references directly from EBSCO into Bookends (note: My EBSCO account is under an institution, so using the EBSCO filter doesn't seem to work (my institutional account is not recognized, hence my efforts to use the BB), I am using Zotero's import plugin in my regular web browser, importing EBSCO records into Zotero (which also reliably grabs associated pdf's, if any), exporting my Zotero library to a file, and importing the Zotero library into Bookends.

I can't help thinking that there must a more direct way of getting records from EBSCO into Bookends and that I'm missing something.

Any advice on a better way to do this much appreciated.

Sam
Jon
Site Admin

Re: What is the preferred workflow to import from EBSCO?

Post by Jon »